Maria Guerrero

Tell us about yourself and your family
My family is originally from Chile, although I’m the only one that was born in the US. We moved to Ohio when I was about 9 years old from Connecticut (we moved a lot before that, too) and I’ve been here ever since! My brother is currently finishing up his fourth year as a medical student at Ohio State and my parents are both biochemical engineers who work at Nestle. We have a 12 year old dog black lab/shepherd mix named Cass, who acts more like a 5 year old and really really loves going on walks. 
Right now I’m a third year at Ohio State studying biomedical science, I spend a lot of my time in my research lab, and I’m part of College Mentors for Kids as well as Chimes Junior Class Honorary. I really love traveling and will actually be studying abroad in Japan this May.
Education background
I graduated from Dublin Coffman in 2014, and am on track to graduate from Ohio State in May of 2018 with a BS in Biomedical Science. 
Career path
After graduation I plan on taking a year off from school. I’m trying to gather some income and then travel (destination undecided). After that, the intention is to go to medical school! I’m not sure where I want to go or what I want to do but I’m trying to keep my options open.
How you came to be at the clinic
I learned about the clinic from my older brother, Tomas. He started out as an interpreter and then became one of the OSU med student coordinators. He encouraged me to go to the clinic and participate and I’m so, so thankful he introduced me to this wonderful group!

A story that you want to share that had an impact on your education/career/clinic path
The one thing that comes to mind is when I went on a trip to Kolkata, India with Global Health Initiative from OSU in the summer of 2015. We were there for two weeks and we went to an all-girls school in a rural village, Piyali. The village right next to Piyali was considered a red-light district and therefore the intention of Piyali Learning Center, or PCC, was to empower the girls and educate them so that they could thrive in a country that is still not seeing women on an equal playing field as men. We were there to teach them about women's health and how to take care of their bodies, since it’s such a taboo subject. We also had the opportunity to educate the women of the village on Women's health and proper water usage. Our final task there was to gather data on a water survey that was going to be used by the Rotary club to improve drinking water conditions. Overall, I think this trip got me interested in working with underserved populations and it definitely sparked an interest in Women’s health.